All about education system in Australia


The Australian education system is one of the most respected in the world. Students who graduate from an Australian university are highly sought after by employers all over the world.
The education system in Australia is different from that in other countries. From six onwards, children must attend school.

There are three main types of schools: primary schools, secondary schools and tertiary institutions.

Primary schools

Primary schools teach children from Kindergarten to Year 6. In some states, children in Kindergarten are aged four or five. In Year 6, children are aged ten or eleven.

How to Make the Most of Your International Student Life in Australia | by  Suri Do | Medium

Secondary schools

Secondary schools teach children from Year 7 to Year 12. In some states, children in Year 7 are aged eleven or twelve. In Year 12, children are aged seventeen or eighteen.

Tertiary institutions

Tertiary institutions include universities, vocational colleges and private colleges. They offer courses for people who have completed Year 12 or equivalent.

Australia GPA system

The GPA system in Australia is a way of measuring a student’s academic achievement. It is calculated by taking the average of a student’s results from all of their subjects. The GPA is then used to rank students against each other.

For example, if a student gets an A in all of their subjects, their GPA would be 4.0. If a student gets a B in all of their subjects, their GPA would be 3.0. And so on.

The Australia GPA  system is used by universities to decide which students to accept into their courses. It is also used by employers to decide which job applicants to interview.

Some students feel a lot of pressure to maintain a high GPA. This can lead to students feeling stressed and overwhelmed. It is important to remember that your GPA is not the only thing that determines your worth as a person.